LINE JUDICIANDA LIGANDA

News Release

August 31, 2023

Three new High Court Circuits operationalized as new High Court Judges are deployed

The Principal Judge, Dr Flavian Zeija has deployed the 11 recently appointed Acting Judges of the High Court in a move that will see three new High Court Circuits operationalized.

In his deployment circular dated August 30, the Principal Judge noted that the new High Court Circuits to be operationalized include Bushenyi which is being carved out of Mbarara, Kiboga curved out of Mubende and Kitgum High Court which has been curved out of Gulu High Court Circuit.

The deployments have seen Lady Justice Flavia Nabakooza taken to the Land Division while the outgoing Judiciary Public Relations Officer, Justice Jamson Karemani deployed to Kiboga as the first Judge of the Circuit.

The new courts being operationalized are part of the Chief Justice's transformational agenda to improve access to justice by the people of Uganda. During the launch of the video conferencing facility at Gulu High Court, the Chief Justice observed that the operationalization of the new High Court Circuits will "greatly reduce on the long distances that the people have been trekking to access High Court services."

The deployments have also seen circuits with a heavy workload such as Fort Portal, Mbale and Mukono getting an additional Judge. In the same vein, Land Division got two additional Judges while Commercial, Criminal and Family Divisions have each got one additional Judge.

A. DEPLOYMENTS

SN	NAME	CURRENT STATION	NEW STATION	
ACTING JUDGES OF THE HIGH COURT				
1.	Hon. Lady Justice Flavia	NEW	Land Division of the	
	Nabakooza		High Court	
2.	Hon. Justice Amos Kwizera	NEW	Mbarara High Court	
			Circuit (To move to	
			Bushenyi High Court after	
			organizing of the Court)	

3.	Hon. Justice Jamson Karemani	NEW	Mubende High Court
٥.	Karemera		Circuit (To move to
	Karemera		`
			Kiboga High Court after
			organizing of the Court)
4.	Hon. Justice Phillip Willebrord	NEW	Gulu High Court Circuit
	Mwaka		(To move to Kitgum
			High Court after
			organizing of the Court)
5.	Hon. Justice David L. Makumbi	NEW	Fort Portal High Court
			Circuit
6.	Hon. Lady Justice Dr Christine	NEW	Family Division of the
	Akello Echookit		High Court
7.	Hon. Lady Justice Jaqueline	NEW	Mukono High Court
	Mwondha		Circuit
8.	Hon. Lady Justice Aisha Naluzze	NEW	Land Division of the
	Batala		High Court
9.	Hon. Lady Justice Kania Rosette	NEW	Criminal Division of the
	Comfort		High Court
10.	Hon. Lady Justice Rubagumya	NEW	Commercial Division of
	Tumusiime Patience Emily		the High Court
11.	Hon. Justice Lubega Farouq	NEW	Mbale High Court Circuit

ENQUIRIES

Ereemye James J.M., Public Relations Officer E: jereemye@judiciary.go.ug

| **Sheila Wamboga**, Principal Communications Officer, E: swamboga@judiciary.go.ug